What is Radical?

I love this poem by Nick Chesterfield, and would love to share it here.

after i read this poem, I asked and think to my self.”so, whats wrong of being radical?” cos i do remember when i was in high school, if i ask the teacher whats radical…she will say, its a dangerous thoughts. and in university, I’ve choose to do research on my final thesis on video and new media arts, they said don’t try to be radical or out of the norm… huh? yeah that’s  my respond… HUH!? strange old people, who dislikes to argue.  anyway, enjoy the poem!

What is Radical? by Nick Chesterfield

To be genuinely conserving is radical;
In a world where greed is the norm, generosity is radical;
In a world where apathy reigns, engagement is radical;
In a world where selfishness is normal; selflessness is radical;
In a reactionary world; creativity is radical;
In a world of “what is in it for me?”, genuine altruism is radical;
In a world of ignorance, education is radical;
In a world of “I’m alright Jack….. you”, solidarity is radical;
In a world where taking too much is normal, giving back is radical;
In an anthropocentric world, understanding we are an equal species is radical;
In a world of the status quo; desire for positive change is radical.
In a world of comfort, sacrifice is radical;
In a world of talk talk talk, action is radical;
In a world of slavery of all species, acting for freedom is radical.
In a world of “NOW”, “Tomorrow” is radical;
In a world of fear, hope is radical;