Damai lah kamu disana… Juliana Yassin

18761_226732103330_6601244_n

Juliana Yassin | Photo Credit: Probowo Setyadi

26 August kami dapat kabar dari teman kami Aswad yang mengatakan Julie (Juliana Yassin) sudah tahap kritikal. Juliana yang aku kenal antara orang yang banyak memberi inspirasi pada aku.

August 26, We received news from our friend Aswad informing us that Julie (Juliana Yassin) was in critical condition.I’ve known Juliana as a kind person and a person that have gave me a lot of inspiration.

Aku mengenalnya sekitar tahun  2005… mungkin beberapa bulan selesai acara Notthatbalai (NTB). Kita berjumpa di Rimbun dahan, dan pada waktu itu, dia datang melawat studio Saiful Razman  di Rimbun Dahan. Sebetulnya pertemuan aku dengan  Julie, itu kebetulan.

I’ve known her around 2005, maybe after few months after Notthatbalai (NTB). We’ve meet at Rimbun Dahan, at that time she visited Saiful Razman Studio there. It’s actually a coincidence meeting Juliana there.

Julie, seorang yang ceria, senang di dekati dan humble. Dia cuma memperkenalkan dirinya Julie, dan memberitahu aku dia dengar tentang NTB dan minta aku cerita pengalaman aku organise acara itu. Kita banyak berbagi cerita malam itu, dan dia bertanya apakah rencana aku selesai NTB… aku bilang aku tidak tau, aku bingung! Dia senyum dan bilang untuk teruskan buat acara….  dan mengajak utk organise acara performance kolaborasi bersama. Ayuh! katanya.

Julie was a cheerful, friendly and humble person.  She only introduce herself as Julie and told me that she had heard I’ve organized NTB and asked me if i could shared my experience with her. We shared a lot stories that night, and she had asked me, whats my plan after NTB… I told her I don’t know, I was still confused what to do next! She just smiled and told me to keep organized art program/event and encourage me to organized a collaborative performance event. Lets do it! she told me.

Iya itu Julie, selalu penuh semangat dan keyakinan. Mungkin saat itu dia sadar aku tidak yakin dengan diriku, tapi dia… dia tetap beri semangat dan sharing pengalaman dia. Dia seorang perempuan yang penuh energi positif dan tidak sombong. Dia seorang yang senang berbagi pengalamannya & sharing network keseniannya. Itu Julie yang aku ingat, yang beri keyakinan dan semangat utk tetap terus lakukan apa yang aku percaya.

Yes, thats Julie, always full of passion and confidence. MAybe at that time she can feel or see that I’m not confidence with myself, but she… she gave her spirit and shared her experiences. She was a woman full of positive energy and not arrogant. she was a person who love to share her experiences and her art network. It was Julie who I remember, which empower me to give confidence and passion keep continue doing what I believe in.

Aku senang ada pengalaman bikin acara bersama Julie… aku akui saat co-organise  acara Stopover bersama Jason Lim di KL, kalau aku ragu…Julie banyak bagi advise jika aku ada persoalan tentang hal2 organise acara… banyak yang aku belajar dari mereka berdua. Walaupun banyak kekurangan disisi aku saat itu, mereka tetap supportive dan memberi ruang untuk aku belajar. Terutama Julie, sering checking apa aku baik-baik saja, dan selalu ingatkan aku “jangan panic ili” “take charge”…🙂

Banyak yang mengenal Julie sebagai Performance Artist… tapi  dia juga seorang art event organiser yang hebat. Sangat Supportive dan Awesome team player.  Terbuka untuk diskusi idea dan walaupun aku muda dan tidak berpengalaman seperti dirinya dia tidak pernah menunjukan sikap seniority nya. Aku menghormati dia kerana kemampuannya organise acara, seorang yang tertib tetapi tidak rigid. Santai dan tetap teratur.

I’m happy that I had a chance to organize event together with Julie, I have to admit when i’ve co-organised Stopover event in KL with Jason Lim,  if there’s things I’ve doubted, Julie have always helped give advised on questions about organizing event… I’ve learn a lot from both of them. Even though there are weaknesses on my side during that time, both of them are very supportive and gave me a space to learn. Especially Julie, always checked on me, whether Im ok and always reminded me to “don’t be panic, Ili” and “to take charge”…🙂

Many knew Julie as a performance artist, but she’s also a great art event organizer. Very supportive and awesome team player. Open on discussing ideas and even though at that time I was younger and less experience than her, she never showed her seniority attitude. I’ve respected her because her ability to organized event, an orderly but not rigid. Relax and  organized.

JAF 08 artists, curators and organiser

2008… itu hal yang manis selain dari berpeluang untuk menjalankan kajian tentang Festival Jatiwangi, di situ tempat aku mengenal dekat Julie. Partner aku ditawarkan untuk ikut ke acara Jatiwangi dan Julie tidak pernah putus beri semangat dan memberi ruang untuk aku tambahkan pengalaman… Dia megajak aku untuk datang ikut, dan aku usulkan idea  untuk bikin kajian tentang komuniti dan seni, kerana aku mau belajar organise acara seni& komuniti. Aku belajar banyak dari Julie dan teman-teman Jatiwangi. “Seniman harus bergaul dengan semua orang, dan jangan malu-malu” antara pesan Julie. Julie yang glamor dengan gelaran Tante Jules jelas menyentuh banyak hati warga-warga Jatiwangi dan sesiapa saja yang mengenal dia. Kemana saja, wajahnya tetap ceria, dan sering ketawa. Dia seorang yang menyenangkan dan baik.

2008… was  memorable apart from having opportunity to conduct a research on Festival Jatiwangi, there is where I known Julie closer. My partners have been offered to participate in Jatiwangi Art Fest and Julie never gave up to give opportunity for me to built up my experience… She invited me to come and I’ve proposed if I could conduct an arts and community research, because I wanted to learn to organize arts and community programs. I’ve learn a lot from Julie and from friends from Jatiwangi. “Artist should be able to get along with everyone, and don’t be shy” this are among the Julie’s words. Julie glamour known as Tante Jules have touched many hearts and anyone in Jatiwangi who knew her. Everywhere she goes, often with her cheerful face and laugh. She was pleasant and kind person.

 2009 makan2 di tempatnya Aswad sama tante Jules... Sambal bebe buat pedas skali tapi hari yg sngat menyenangkan. You are not only a great performance artist Juliana but a wonderful friend. We are always grateful to know u.

2009 makan2 di tempatnya Aswad sama tante Jules… Sambal bebe buat pedas skali tapi hari yg sngat menyenangkan. You are not only a great performance artist Juliana but a wonderful friend. We are always grateful to know u.

Sikap nya yang ceria itu mudah mendekati anak gadisku… di Jatiwangi kemana-mana… “tante jules…tante jules…” Aku ingat saat partnerku dan anakku ke Singapore, Julie menawarkan untuk menginap di tempatnya dan mereka pulang dari Singapore bawa cerita yang lucu tentang hari-hari mereka sama Tante Jules nya.

Her cheerful character makes it easier to be close with my daughter, everywhere she goes during in Jatiwangi “tante Jules…Tante jules….” I still remember during my partner and daughter visits to Singapore, JUlie had offer her home and hospitality and they brought back fun stories about their days spending time with their Tante Jules.

2009 kita makan bersama dengan Julie… dan itu kali terakhir kita dan Julie bersua… selain itu kita hanya mampu memberi kabar di email atau online.

2009, was the last time we’ve met Jules, we’ve eat together… other than that we are only able to keep in touch” thru email or online.

Julie… you will be remember as someone that touch our heart with your kindness.You are one of those people that we’ve met in our life times that have plant beautiful seeds of memories which will keep blooming in our hearts.  We are always grateful  to know you.

… Damailah kamu Disana dan tetaplah tersenyum seperti selalu … Until We Meet Again Dear Julie.

May you find peace there and keep your smile as always. Until we meet again dear Julie

Al-Fatihah.

2012-08-17_1345246368 copy